Eliot, George.

Silas Marner and Two Short Stories.


DKK 85,00

Varenr:  83- Eng. – Uindbundet. –  2005. – 277 sider. – Pæn eksemplar. – 85 kr. 

The story opens as Silas Marner, falsely accused of theft, loses everything, including his faith in God. Embittered and alienated from his fellw man, he moves to the village of Raveloe, where he becomes a waver. Taking refuge in his work, Silas slowly begins to accumulate god – his only joy in life – until one day that too is stolen from him.

The volume also includes two shorter works by Eliot: “The Lifted Veil”, a Gothic fantasy about a morbid young clairvoyant. And “Brother Jacob”, a deliciously satirical fable about a confectioner’s apprentice.

Barnes & Noble Classics, New York, 2005.

På lager


INDHOLD: The world of George Eliot Silas Marner. – Introduction by George Levine. – Silas Marner. – The Lifted Veil. – Brother Jacob. – Endnotes. – Inspired by Silas Marner. – Comments and questions. – For further reading.- With an introduction and notes by George Levine.